Why do you run?

   Source

“Man imposes his own limitations, don’t set any”

-Anthony Bailey

We all have different reasons for running. I know the reason I first started running was to lose weight. I thought it would be so easy to run a half marathon and that the pounds would just come off. My first run I couldn’t even make it a mile. I cried. That’s when my reason for running changed. I wanted to push myself. To know that I was able to accomplish something that wasn’t just a mental challenge but also a physical one. I’ve been running for only two years but I have learned so much in so little time. I’ve learned technical stuff that works for me like what to eat before a run and how much water to drink. But there is so much more to it than that. I think only runners can understand it. I’ve been asked so many times why I run…especially why I pay to run. LOL. I guess it can be a little hard for someone to understand. The best way to explain it is….. I run because I love to feel the control I have over my body and mind. I tell my body to keep moving. I tell my body not to quit. I control my body. It’s an amazing feeling.

I welcome everything that comes along with running. The runs alone, the runs in the ARIZONA HEAT, the dark mornings, the rainy days and the days I just want to quit. I welcome them because they are all part of the experience and OH IT’S SO WORTH IT!!!!! 🙂

Question: Why do you run?

Betty

3 comments on “Why do you run?

  1. sheila says:

    I love this post! I’m always interested on why people do the things they do, esp. running. People have asked me that too. I totally understand everything you said on here. It made me smile. 🙂

    I run because it’s challenging for me and it pushes me pass my limits. It also showed me what I’m capable of and how strong I am.

  2. lowandbhold says:

    Love this! I totally run for how empowered and strong it makes me feel. It’s a feeling unlike anything else.

Leave a Reply

