“What does it take to be #1?”

Today started with a 12 mile run. This is the most I’ve ever ran for a training run. I’ve been wanting it so bad but I’ll admit that I’ve been scared. It’s weird to me that I get scared for long training runs but the day of a half marathon I am so excited. Why do I make myself so scared for it?! Who knows…

I’ve been following a training plan for the first time. Part of the plan was a 12 mile run so I had no excuses. I’ve been looking forward to it this whole week. I have been scared and a little nervous. Above all though I’ve felt ready for it. I know that sometimes we just have to push ourselves a little more even though we think we are already pushing ourselves a lot. It’s worth it at the end when we achieve what we set out to do. I woke up this morning feeling a little tired but ready to push myself. I had a few things to look forward to..

1) Craig was riding his bike to make sure I would be okay. It always gives me an extra boost when I know he is around.

2) I was meeting my friend Diana at about the 4th mile. She had an 8 mile run planned and I was happy we would get to run together again.

3) This is a huge accomplishment for me. I knew that if I finished strong that it would be a huge plus for LARNR coming up. I would feel more prepared and motivated.

At first I started off a little fast but at about the 2nd mile I started settling in my zone. I kept the same pace until I met Diana. We chatted for the first 3 miles then decided to listen to music. I was starting to get an air pocket on my right side and I didn’t want to make it worse. We picked up our pace after that and we both felt really good. My music is BOMB by the way! No joke. LOL. I really do appreciate my iPod because it gets me through some tough runs.

(This picture is from my phone so I’m sorry it’s not very good. I don’t know why I haven’t been taking my camera. Weird)

We made it to our separating spot. Diana would be running the opposite way and we both still had about 2 miles left before getting to our house. At that point I was at about the 10th mile and my legs were starting to feel sore and heavy. Other than that I felt great and I was really happy about it. I knew that I could finish it in my goal time and I made it another goal to not stop until I was home. I kept moving my legs and I kept focused. I felt such a huge relief when I could see my house. I could see Craig ahead and I knew that I was so close. I started singing Nelly’s “#1 song.” I was feeling the music and I ran faster. I didn’t stop until I was at the stairs of my house. As soon as I stopped my legs were MUSH. Seriously…MUSH. I felt like I had run a half marathon. Happy, Excited, TIRED, Sore, Proud. I felt amazing. I had run the most I ever ran on a training run and I made it in my goal time. Nothing can ruin this day and the feeling of accomplishment. Not even my sore legs. LOL. I can’t wait to cross the finish line in L.A. It’s going to be awesome.

Tomorrow will be awesome too 🙂 Craig and I are running the Susan G. Komen 5k!! Also two of my friends at work are walking it. Shout out to Tracy and Michelle!! I am so proud of them. Michelle started the Couch to 5k plan this week and she is killing it. Woohooooo! 😉 I’m sure I’ll have a lot of pictures to share so I’ll be back manana.

Have a great night bloggies.

Oh also check out this song…it’s a remake of The Buggles ” Video Killed the Radio Star” This one is Will.i.am and Nicki Minaj and it’s “Check it Out” I’m adding this to my playlist ahora.

Betty

3 comments on ““What does it take to be #1?”

  1. Gill says:

    Great accomplishment!!! I would never have doubted you. Thanks Craig for watching out for her. Have fun Sunday.

  2. Melissa says:

    Great job, Betty!!! You are going to rock the marathon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

