Thankful and Proud

Time for the race recap…….

This is how it looked when I arrived at the shuttle drop off. The shuttles were going from 4:30 am to 6:30 am.  I got there at about 5:30 am. The weather was so nice and the city was so quiet. I was still nervous but I knew I had to do it.

As soon as Craig dropped me off another runner asked if he could walk with me. I happily said yes. I love how runners are always so friendly and nice to each other. We walked a little towards the shuttles and talked. It was his first half marathon and I was so excited to hear about his training. We were able to get a seat in the shuttle right away. It was very well-organized. You could hear all the runners talking on the way to Griffith Park and everyone was so excited. I’m glad I did take the shuttle. It turned out to be fun. I had to wait for about over an hour for the race to start but I used it to stretch and eat a banana.

The start of the race was pretty quiet since there wasn’t too many spectators but they did have announcers. Also music playing in the background. I remember hearing “Eye of the Tiger” as we moved up in line. As I crossed the finish line I pushed start on my ipod and Millie(hrm) It was time to have my GAMEFACE on. mY first song was “I’m a Go Getta” by Lil Wayne. LOve it!!

I took my camera with me too. This was before I saw Craig.

I knew Craig would be meeting me at about the 3rd mile and I was so excited to see them. My hair thing fell of at about the 2nd mile so my sister had to give me hers 🙂

I was wearing my new glasses which I really like. They are really light and I’m happy I was able to find them at the expo. By that point I was ready to be without them though. Maybe I just can’t wear glasses when I run. I’ve tried others too and it just isn’t me. I will use them for short runs though.

I felt that the race was going pretty fast. Craig even said that it felt fast. They even rushed through breakfast so they could meet me at the 6th mile mark. I wasn’t sure if I was going for 2:30 yet until I crossed the 6th mile at 1 hour and 5 mins. I messaged Craig saying “I’m going for it.” He had been telling me I could do it under 2:30 but I still had 2:45 in my head. I felt great most of the race and I loved the scenery. There was a lot of hills. I was not expecting it but I used them to my advantage when I ran down hill 😉

At about the 11th mile I got my GU. I had about half before tossing it. I was feeling good and I knew by that point I could make it by 2:30. I pushed myself through the hills. My hamstrings and calves were starting to ache but I always remember this saying “Pain is temporary.” I also started thinking about crossing the finish line and I started to get emotional.

We passed by Echo Park.

Then I passed the 12 mile mark and saw Craig and my sister. I barely stopped to kiss Craig as I said to him ” I’m going to keep on going” He just smiled and waved. Throughout the race I had my friends messaging me and encouraging me. Craig and my sister telling me how proud they were of me. I was so happy.

I started to laugh when I saw this….

I knew the finish was just around the corner. I kept going and even though I was ready to stop…I didn’t. When I crossed the finish line I put my hands up in the air. I recorded it. I even recorded Millie saying 2:27 🙂 I went over to Craig and my sister. I hugged Craig and started crying. I was so happy and proud. I’ve been wanting it for so long and I got it. It was awesome.

I am so thankful to have people around me that support me. I know sometimes I can be too much. Especially when I just talk about running and races. But they are always there listening to me. Taking me to these races. Making sure I’m eating the right thing, sleeping enough and having fun. I don’t know if I would enjoy doing races as much as I do if it wasn’t for them. Craig is always there supporting me. Telling me I can do it, following me around on his bike when it’s too dark outside or even joining me on my runs. I never asked him to…he just did it. I say this a lot but I really do mean it…I am very lucky. I have great friends and an amazing family. Thank you all so much for the love and support. It means more to me than you will ever know. I love you guys.

Betty

4 comments on “Thankful and Proud

  1. Melissa says:

    Betty, that is so awesome!! Congrats!! And Craig is a great guy for being your support system. 🙂

  2. Gill says:

    Congratulations!!!! you should be very proud. I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am of you. Keep it up, you are AMAZING!!!

  3. Becky says:

    This sounds like you had a lot of fun. It’s very encouraging. Craig seems like a great cheerleader too!

Leave a Reply

