“How I Met….”

my love…Craig.

Today Craig and I are celebrating our 5 year anniversary. 🙂 It has been 5 amazing years. I want to share with you our story. Especially since I talk about him so much on here. It’s a pretty short story so I won’t bore you for too long 🙂

Craig and I met a little over 7 years ago when I started at a new job. He already worked there and made sure to make me feel right at home on my first day….I’m being sarcastic. He was a weirdo or at least I thought he was. I had never met someone like Craig before. He is very sarcastic. I didn’t understand people like that at that time. I was very naive. At first I would go home and complain about him and how much I didn’t like him. At this point he wasn’t doing anything mean to me. He would just make a lot of jokes and think he was the funniest person alive. I didn’t think he was. Anyway, after a couple of months of working with him I started to understand his sense of humor. I found myself laughing at his jokes and joining him on them too. We became really good friends. I would talk to him about anything and everything. We would go out to lunch sometimes or hang out after work. After a year and a half of working together I ended up taking another offer with the same company but different position at another location. It was sad that I wasn’t going to see him every day and he felt the same way. By that point I knew that I had feelings for him but I wasn’t sure if he felt the same way or he just saw me as a friend.  After I moved to the new location we would still meet for lunch once in a while. Things started changing between us. I was going through a lot during that time in my life and I wasn’t looking for a boyfriend but I knew that I really cared about him. He knew I was going through a hard time and was there for me. We would hang out with his friends and we would do things alone. We even spent Thanksgiving together. I didn’t think anything of it because at that point I thought he just saw me as a friend. After a couple of months of things being “different” between us my sister and friends were telling me that we were dating. Okay, so I said I was naive…I didn’t think we were dating. One night he took me to see Monster trucks and to dinner….

That night I asked him if we were dating. LOL. Dumb question. He said yes. I was like….um I’m sorry I didn’t know. I was happy he felt the same way about me and we made that date our “official” anniversary date. That was 5 years ago today 🙂 Since then my life has changed in so many ways and for the better. I feel as if everything that was wrong in my life started falling into place. I started making better decisions and thinking about myself more. I made sure to do things that made me happy and not worry about others. I know it sounds selfish and it is. However, I’ve lived trying to make other people happy before and I WASN’T happy. I am very blessed and lucky to have someone like Craig in my life. I make sure to show him everyday how much I love and appreciate him. He has been supportive when I have crazy ideas. He has been by my side when I was going through one of the hardest things I’ve ever gone through in my life. He is my best friend.

One of our first vacations was going to Disneyland 🙂

We still go to Glamis every year. I have experienced so many new things since meeting him. He has too. We haven’t tried to change each other but share with each other who we are and what we like.

A couple of years later I surprised him with Monster Truck tickets 😉

I love to dance and Craig didn’t when we first started dating. He gave it a shot and now he is a dancing fool. LOL. REALLY….he is.

We have experienced a lot together these years. From hiking Zion National Park, Glamis, hikes all over AZ, Half Marathons, amusement parks…..

Oh and Las Vegas. We have experienced Las Vegas a lot. 🙂 In December we even ran down the strip for the Las Vegas RNR half marathon.

There was a point in my life when I didn’t believe in happiness.

And now I do. I feel it. It’s the best. I love my life.

P.S. Now I think he is the funniest person alive 😉

Tonight Craig and I are going to a new place. I’ll have pictures tomorrow.

Betty

2 comments on ““How I Met….”

  1. Melissa says:

    Great story. 🙂 Too funny that you didn’t really “like” him at first! Congrats on 5 years!

Leave a Reply

