We are AWESOME!

Hi

I took today off from work, I’m sick AGAIN..BIG SURPRISE!!! I seriously don’t know what my deal is but I’m starting to get really pissed off. Grrrrrr. I might just be going crazy…I’m trying to not let it get to me but being sick SUCKS. Saturday morning my throat was sore but it got better or maybe I was too busy focusing on the race that I ignored it. This morning I woke up with the worst sore throat ever. It even hurts to talk. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh. I’m sorry I’m starting this post on a bad note but I just needed to let out my frustration.

Enough of my complaining, I’m going to flip this post around from negative to positive.

Almost four years ago I changed my life for the better. Since then, my life has been pretty awesome. I’ve accomplished so much, thing’s I never imagined I would do. However, when I first started my healthy journey I didn’t always focus on the great things I had accomplished. Even when I was going to the gym almost everyday or denying myself things that I loved to eat..I still would put MYSELF down. I would take pictures of my stomach and point out how nasty it was. I would look at certain parts of my body and complain about them constantly. I also was very strict on my diet, because that’s what it was at the time for me. At first I wanted to lose weight to be skinny and hot 🙂 I mean I still want to look hot, I’m not going to lie. But I didn’t focus on how awesome I felt also. The difference from when I first started. I remember going to the gym at the beginning and not being able to be on the elliptical for more than 5 minutes. Now it’s a piece of cake. Or even when I went on a bike ride with Craig at the park and I could barely do 2 miles before getting sick. Now when we pass that area at the park when I had to stop, I look at it and think about how much I’ve come along. I’m at 16 miles on the bike and that’s pretty huge to me. In the beginning I would compare myself to others. What they were able to do and I couldn’t. How flat their stomach was and how mine wasn’t. We all have our moments when we do that still, I mean we are human. We can always focus on our muffin tops, thick legs or whatever but we should focus on the things we do like about ourselves.

When I start feeling that way I remind myself everything that I’ve accomplished and  thing’s I feel good about. I immediately start to feel better. So I’m going to make a list and I want you to leave a comment of what you’ve accomplished also. 🙂 That way when we have “those days” we remember how awesome we really are. We don’t have to deprive ourselves from anything or compare ourselves to other people. We are AWESOME!!!!

Here’s my list:

~ Ran 7 half marathons..my best time at 2:27

~ I’ve run 10 other races with friends and family..5k’s and 10k’s

~ I wore a bikini out in public for the first time 3 years ago and have been doing it since. Lol. This one was big because I wasn’t confident enough to do it before. I might not have a flat stomach but I’m proud of it because I’ve worked hard for it. 

~ I’ve maintained my weight for almost 4 years!!! What what!!!! 😉

~ I’ve hiked trails in Arizona, California and Utah. I have many more on my list to do.

~ I survived Boot camp twice..six weeks each time. It was SO hard but I stuck through it and felt myself getting stronger.

~Discovered so many other things I like to do…run, hike, yoga, Zumba and kickboxing. I know there is still so much more I know I’ll discover, like rock climbing.

~ Started wearing shorts and spaghetti tops again. I had not worn shorts since the 9th grade. Maybe that’s why I like them so much now.

Those are just a few thing’s I’ve accomplished since I started my journey. I refuse to pick at everything I would change about myself. I want to focus on the things I like and the things I’ve accomplished better 🙂

Question: What have you accomplished? Or what do you love about yourself?

Betty

One comment on “We are AWESOME!

  1. Rose says:

    That is a pretty AWESOME accomplishment list!

Leave a Reply

