Long run that turned into yoga

So this morning I had planned an 8 mile run….well it didn’t happen. I woke up at 5:30 when my alarm when off. Instead of getting into my workout clothes like I had planned, I went to the couch and fell asleep. See I woke up this morning with the best intentions. I had my running clothes set out already but I just wasn’t feeling it. After another hour of sleep I woke up and changed into my running clothes. I was excited to wear my running skirt for the first time and also looking forward to the new songs I added to my playlist. Craig was going to ride his bike while I ran so everything was set. Well I headed out before him while he got his stuff ready. I needed time to stretch anyway. I headed outside and immediately started DREADING my long run. Ugh I was so mad at myself for not heading out at 6am like I had planned. Grrrr I get so frustrated when I don’t do things as planned. I ended up walking back home before I even started running. Craig was already headed my way. I told him I wasn’t running today, I just wasn’t feeling it. At that point the plan changed from running to yogaing. (is that a word?)   

It was actually a good decision. I know that sometimes things change once you start doing it but I really wasn’t in the mood to run 8 miles today. I came home and popped Bob Harper into the dvd player. Got my yoga mat out, opened the blinds and enjoyed some yoga. I needed it. It felt great. It was SO hard. I was sweating and making “strange” noises. When I heard myself making those noises, I must admit I was a little embarrassed. lol. I wanted to stay mad at myself for not running but I couldn’t. I don’t like making excuses so I’m not going to. I’m glad that I listened to my body though and went with what I did feel like doing. Tomorrow is another day….:)

The rest of the day is going to be spent lounging around by the pool, spending time with my family and my lovey.

Tomorrow I will push myself to go on my run. I’ll let you know how it goes. Enjoy your day 🙂

Betty

2 comments on “Long run that turned into yoga

  1. Melissa says:

    Hey, sometimes it happens! At least you did the alternative of doing yoga. I probably would have just gone back to bed. 😉

  2. courtney says:

    i have the same mat!

Leave a Reply

