Salt Lake City with friends

Hi, hope you’re all having a good week so far.

Here are the pictures from our first day in Salt Lake City.

We arrived in Salt Lake City on Monday night around 9pm and the sun was still out. haha. The reason we made SLC one of our stops on our road trip is because our friends live there and invited us. I never imagined visiting SLC before then, but I’m sure glad we did. It was beautiful. Our friends were so nice to us and took us around to as many places they could in two days.

Our first day started at Timpanogos Cave. The hike to the cave is  only about 1.5 miles but its steep. To be honest we had no clue what to expect. It was tough.

Here is some quick info:

The only access to the cave system is by walking a strenuous 1 1/2-mile-paved trail, which rises 1,065 ft to an elevation of 6,730 feet above sea level. The round-trip hike and tour of the cave system takes about three hours. Mid-summer temperatures on the trail can reach 100 degrees F. However, temperatures in the caves average 45 degrees, so a sweater or light jacket is recommended.

Source

American Fork Canyon is really pretty. We walked around for a bit while we waited for our cave tour to start.

Craig with Jeremy and Mildred.

Mildred and I were ahead of the guys most of the time 😉 I guess Beyonce was right.. “Girls will RUN this world.” lol.

There were a few times we were huffing and puffing. I’m not even going to try to act like the hike didn’t get us tired. In this picture I’m pointing to the entrance of the cave, trying to convince us that we don’t have too much to go.

We had a lot of fun hiking to the cave.

And the view was memorable.

I met Mildred when they visited Arizona in November and we instantly clicked. We have a lot in common and I’m so happy to call her my friend now. They might come visit again this November. 🙂

Time for our tour.

I’m glad I took a sweater, it was cold inside.

We’ve gone to other caves here in Arizona and I love it but I always feel a little creepy when I’m inside.

The tour was about 45 minutes long then it was time for us to hike back down.

We saw a deer on our way down but it was too fast and we didn’t get a good picture of it.

I of course had to take a running picture on this bridge. I usually always do this on trips, it’s something I just have to do 😉

After our hike we went on a scenic drive through Wasatch Mountains.

Then we ended up here.

There was a trail that led you through all the cascades.

It was really romantic.

Perfect for a date.

The weather was perfect.

Afterwards we went to Utah Olympic Park in Park City. Craig and I didn’t make any plans for our time in SLC other than to go to this. We wanted to get on the Zipline but when we got there it was closed. 😦 Not meant to be.

We still walked around for a bit and watched some of this.

It’s amazing what people can do.

I wanted to see how I would look skiing, I didn’t like it 😉

We ended the day with a late dinner. By the time we got home it was late and we were pooped. We watched a movie and went to bed.

Tomorrow I’ll post pictures from our second day in SLC. I told you we took a lot of pictures….;)

Betty

5 comments on “Salt Lake City with friends

  1. Becky says:

    I’ve totally been to Cascade Springs! What a beautiful drive!

  2. em says:

    beautiful pics! It looks like you had a lot of fun!

  3. LOVE that pic of you running across the bridge! I gotta start doing that too – haha. I’ve never been to SLC when its not covered in snow…and it looks like its worth the trip for sure!

Leave a Reply

