The best?…close to it for sure.

I’m so glad it’s Friday but also a little nervous because tomorrow I’m scheduled to run 12 miles and I don’t feel ready. I haven’t been feeling well the last two days and I’m hoping that by tomorrow morning I feel a lot better. Wish me luck.

These are the last of the vacation pictures. Ouray, Colorado is definitely on our list to visit again. I loved this place, everything about it was magical.

The next morning as every other day, we were up early. We had a lot of hiking to do and wanted to do as many trails as we could. The night before we discussed which trails were a priority to us then if we had extra time then we would do others.

We headed out to breakfast and I had to wear my sweater because it was a little cold out. The town was really quiet, not a lot of people were out that morning.

After breakfast we went back to our hotel and loaded up the truck. We knew we wouldn’t be back by check out time.

Then we headed to our first hiking trail….Box Canyon Falls.

I started buying a pin for my big Camelbak since Zion National Park. It’s not on there right now because the back of it is broken and I need to get a new piece for it, I don’t want to risk losing that baby. On this trip I bought one in Moab, Arches National Park, Dinosaur National Monument and Box Canyon Falls. I wish they had pins for some locations we hike often in AZ so I could put them on my Camelbak. Yes, I know…I’m a dweeb. I’m also a dweed for wearing my Dinosaur National Monument souvenir shirt the very next day 🙂

There were 3 trails all around the same place that we did.

The first one led to the inside of the canyon, I didn’t really know what to expect.

It was starting to get cooler and cooler as we went in but I never took out my sweater. I was too excited.

Then we got inside and all I kept saying to Craig was “wow, wow, wow.” This was one of the most memorable moments for me.  

When you go down you can start to feel the water falling on you. Craig and I were speechless. (That’s hard to do, too ;))

We got the place to ourselves too because not a lot of people were out hiking yet so we got to enjoy it alone. We stayed inside for a while just soaking it all in.

Then it was on to the second trail that led us over the fall.

Craig was loving every moment of it.

He is “on” every minute of the day. He never lets his body get tired and I tell him he is the energizer bunny.

View from the top of the fall of Ouray.

We could see this bridge from our hotel room and knew it had something to do with Box Canyon and from far away it looked super scary. It’s longer than it looks in this picture and I was a little nervous to walk on it. Once I was on though I was fine.

It led through this tunnel.

And down these stairs. I was holding on because there was something for me to hold on to, if there wasn’t I would’ve been fine.

 

The third trail was more of a short natural trail. We did that then we headed to our next main trail we wanted to do.

We could see this fall from our hotel room too. It was the first one we spotted in the town, you can see it from anywhere in the town I think.

There were a few couples hiking this trail and we all took pictures of each other. We hardly get pictures like this because we are usually alone.

That morning we also had planned to do an off-road trail.

It got scary, really fast. Eeeeek. But we got to see a part of  Ouray that not everyone sees so it was neat.

I drank spring water and it was gooood.

After our drive we hiked some more. We kept finding more and more trails so we kept on doing more and more.

I actually lost count. There was one point that I thought we were done so I took of my HRM than Craig pulled to the side when he saw another trail and of course we hiked it.

We left late from Ouray but we didn’t care if we didn’t get home until midnight because we enjoyed Ouray to the fullest.

 

The drive out of Ouray was so beautiful. We drove on “Million Dollar Highway

The road has steep cliffs and narrow lanes. There were times when I was turning my head towards Craig and not looking to the side.

The rest of the drive was equally as beautiful.

We decided to have lunch at Silverton, Colorado. We had mexican food since we didn’t have it at all on our trip. The thing we ate the most was burgers. 🙂

This was also a small town but not as comfy as Ouray.

After lunch it was time for us to continue our long drive home. We loved every minute of our trip but we were SO looking forward to being home.

On our way back we stopped at the Four Corners. I was in 4 states at once!!! 🙂

Then we saw this…

I love that sign 🙂 We loved every place we went to but there is nothing like “home sweet home” that’s for sure.

We stopped in Flagstaff, Arizona for dinner and it was cold again. We didn’t get home until about midnight. We brought some of our stuff in then went to bed. We finally let our bodies feel how tired they were now that we were home. The next morning I woke up at like 6am and I told my body “No way, you better go back to bed” and I fell asleep for a couple more hours. The rest of the weekend was spent lounging, watching movies, visiting family and relaxing.

This trip was one of our best trips together. On our way back we were trying to decide which was the best and I couldn’t decide between this one or our trip to Zion. Both were amazing. Even our little weekend ones to Flagstaff or Las Vegas are great. We both agreed that the cruise was the last one on the list 😦 We really enjoyed ourselves but we are the type of people who want to be out doing something everyday and with the cruise it was more relaxation. I mean who needs to relax?! haha. We aren’t counting out cruises for the future but for a while we will continue our road trips. Not sure what next year will bring yet but we have a few things in mind 😉

Tomorrow I have a 12 mile run planned, wish me luck. We can all relate to having stomach issues on a long run. UGH. I gotta do it though, only a month left until Disney. Oh and we got our Disneyland tickets this morning too so Yay!!!

Tonight we are going out to dinner with my sisters and brother than Craig and I are going to watch “Friends with Benefits.”

Have a great weekend 🙂

Betty

P.S. Here are a few animals we saw on our trip also…

4 Elk running on our way to Salt Lake City. This was pretty cool.

A deer hiding from us on our way back down from Timpanogos Cave.

A deer by a house in Ouray, Colorado.

Then another deer on the side of the road heading towards Silverton, Colorado.

7 comments on “The best?…close to it for sure.

  1. Your adventure pics are always so jeal-worthy. Like I want to ditch work now and go on a hike somewhere awesome. Thanks for that 🙂

  2. Fun and active vacations like that are the best! You remember everything because you’re actually participating in something. Loved the pics – it made me want to pick up and leave right now!

  3. Melissa says:

    Good luck on your 12 miles – you’ve got this!!

  4. Becky says:

    Love this recap! I’ve been wanting to go to Ouray for a while now–I think you might have convinced me!!

  5. Really pretty pictures! I LOVE LOVE hikes like that. That reminds me of a hike I did on my honeymoon (in Maui). So picturesque.
    I was supposed to do a 12 miler tomorrow too but I opted for the 14 miler that’s with a running group closer to home. I’m not sure that’s the smartest idea on my part but I figure, I might as well get the practice if I have to do 18 miles next week. Eek! Hope my tummy holds up!

Leave a Reply

