Sunday Adventure

Today started with a morning run with my sister. I usually always invite her on morning runs but she doesn’t like to wake up early. haha. I was really surprised when she said she wanted to come with me. She said she didn’t realize how many people were up that early and already running or doing something. haha kids. She plans on coming with me more often, she even said she is going hiking with Craig and I on Sunday. She likes doing stuff but not when it involves her waking up early. She knows Craig and I are early birds. 🙂

I have a lot to do today, including some yoga 🙂 I’m also working on a diaper cake for my sister’s baby shower. I hope it comes out nice. I’ll show you once it’s done.

Last week I mentioned that Craig and I were going to Bearizona and the Flagstaff Arboretum. Of course I have a lot of pictures to share with you. We had a great time and we LOVED Bearizona. I want to go back and take my family. They would love it too.

As soon as we got to the entrance I started freaking out. haha. I was excited but nervous to drive around all the bears. Part of the park is drive thru and you get to see a lot of animals. It was kind of like the Safari ride in Out of Africa except you’re driving your own car.

As soon as you get in they tell you to keep your windows up when you’re by the bears and wolves. With everything else you can leave them open.

Our first animal were some Bison.

White Bison

Bighorn

and then the BEARS!!!!!

I was expecting to see maybe 2 or 3 at the most but there was SO MANY. They were all around just chillin. They were so close and it was so cool.

Craig and I saw a black bear once out in the wild after a camping trip. It was so close to our camp site, if I had seen it before we stayed the night I would’ve been so scared. Good thing it was when we were leaving 😉

There were a lot more animals but this post would be WAY too long if I posted all of them. The drive thru part was way awesome though. The bears weren’t as scary as I thought.

After the drive thru area there is a walk around area, like the zoo.

They had some lady putting on bear tattoos and I wanted one but every time I went there were kids around….I mean adults like fake tattoos too!! lol.

I could’ve watched these little guys forever. They were play fighting for a really long time. So cute.

Little Racoon

They had teenage bears too.

A bird show, the owl was my favorite.

It really was wild and if you live in Arizona I really recommend it. It’s in Williams, Arizona and we made a day of it.

After Bearizona we headed to “Bun Huggers” for lunch in Flagstaff. We’ve always wanted to go there but it always looks so busy and we never stop. The burger was delicious.

Then we were off to the Flagstaff Arboretum.

A lot of pretty flowers.

These were my favorite.

Craig and I both liked the Flagstaff Arboretum but we agreed that the Boyce Thompson Arboretum is WAY better. There are so many more trails and it’s a lot bigger.

 

We ended our adventure in the Tree Maze, we made it out 🙂

Craig and I love finding new things we haven’t done and there is SO many more things for us to do in AZ. We have a HUGE list and slowly we will get through it, it’s fun having our day adventures.

Question: What is one thing on your list to do close to where you live?

We want to visit Tombstone, Bisbee and also a few things in Page, Arizona. Maybe next year…

Betty

 

6 comments on “Sunday Adventure

  1. Melissa says:

    I really need to explore more of Arizona…there are so many things to see/do! Bearizona is definitely on my list. 🙂

  2. You always go on the most adventurous and active trips!!! I need to go here. My family used to go camping every summer before my sisters and I hit our nasty teenage years and I’ve only seen a bear ONCE and it was REALLY far away. It’s now my goal to see a bear and all of those animals up close like you did.

  3. Becky says:

    We have something very similar where I am from! It’s called Bear World and it’s pretty much identical. I’ve never been! I can’t get over the price–it’s expensive!

    Looks like it might be worth it though!

  4. courtney says:

    those bear cubs are adorable!! i think it would be so cool to see tombstone [one of my favorite movies, btw]. our big attraction is the biltmore house. it’s pretty cool, especially at Christmas.

  5. em says:

    Oh my gosh that looks like so much fun! I think its cool that they made it “safari” like but with animals from the area!

    One of my things on the to do list close to wear I live is go to a Bronco’s football game. I have never been to a professional football game and their stadium is only a mile from my apartment!

  6. pawsitivelife says:

    Bearizona! Love the name!!! I live in the capital of Canada so i have done all the touristy stuff, but I would love to run into the prime minister in the gorcery store…unfortunetly we dont live in the same neighbourhood ;0

Leave a Reply

