Still Going For It!!!

This morning I went on my last longer run until the Disneyland Half Marathon. I have a few short ones during the week and on Saturday a 5 mile run. It was a good run but towards the end it was HOT!! It’s suppose to be 115 today. EEEEeeek! I felt good whenΒ I finished though. My knee was starting to ache a bit at the beginning but it got better as I kept going. I’m icing right now and once I’m done on some blog reading I’m going to get my Yoga on πŸ˜‰

I am starting to get a little nervous about the race now that it’s closer. I am so looking forward to it but Eeeek! I like that I still get nervous though, I think it’s part of running races. πŸ™‚

A few reasons why I know I feel nervous is because I don’t feel as prepared as I did for the L.A. Half Marathon. I compare all my races to the L.A. one because that’s the one I felt the best for. It was my best time at 2:27 and the only race I’ve ran alone. I plan on running the Disneyland 1/2 alone also. I loved runnig L.A. alone because I pushed myself to do the best that I could, but I love running with people so I know that I’ll miss that part too. When I started training for Disney my original goal time was 2:20. That was before a few health issues occurred. I’ve done the best I can to keep up with my training plan and stay motivated. I’m not going to change my goal. I’m still going for the 2:20!!! But I’m going to enjoy this race no matter what my time is. I know how I’ve felt the last few months, I know that I’ve pushed myself even when I didn’t feel good, with the Dr. appointments, tests and stress. So you bet i’ll probably cry if I beat my L.A. time because I know that it’s been a challenge. I’m not making excuses if I don’t beat my time, I’m going to accept it and be proud of it πŸ™‚ Plus I’m running in Disneyland!! The Happiest Place on Earth, I gotta have fun!! πŸ™‚

I chose my song already for my video. I always choose a song that always pumped me up on my runs. There’s always one that sticks out more than others. Craig makes me a video for every race, since my very first one. I’ve come a long way since then. πŸ˜‰

Here is the video of my very first half marathon with my friend Diana that Craig made for me. We had an older camera so it’s not all high tech but I still love watching it πŸ™‚

Here’s my L.A. RNR Half video…just for fun πŸ˜‰

Β I also want to show you a cute Nike top I got yesterday. As soon as I saw it, I knew it had to be mine.

Β Nike activewear top

Nike activewear top (see more nike activewears)

I love what it says. Not sure if you can read it so here it is….

“Start( In different languages) A race is about pain, suffering, glory, sweat, tears, gelatinaus legs, jockeying for position, passing people,being passed, passing out, hallucinations, funny tanlines, adoring fans, adrenaline, favorite socks, hyperventilation, H2O, stamina, second wind, cramps, cotton mouth, B.O., willpower, gasping, another t-shirt, wanting to puke, #@&!, training, and winning, Finish (In all different languages)”

I agree with all of it πŸ˜‰

Question: Is there anything you would add to the shirt?

How about stomach issues?!…that one applies to me. lol. I guess it wouldn’t be so nice on a shirt though. I would also add face salt to it πŸ˜‰

Betty

6 comments on “Still Going For It!!!

  1. Becky says:

    I want that shirt!! And it is totally not available anymore!! SAD!

  2. I LOVE that shirt – now I want to buy it!

    I’m sure you’ll do awesome – like you’ve already said before, a lot of it is your willpower and you’ve been good about training which is half the battle in itself. I like your attitude – just be happy and proud of yourself no matter what πŸ™‚

    I’ll have to run that race next time since it’s so close to me!

  3. Diana Acuna says:

    I love that shirt toooooo!
    Todo estara bien pelokis! Eres una de la pocas personas que hacen todo y hasta lo imposible x ser mejor en todo…Asi que tu sabes que haras super bien en Disney lo sabes y lo sabemos……………………..Atrevete! Esa cancion esta super pa tu video ya que estando enferma, estresada, etc. etc….que ya sabemos de todas maneras le hechas las ganas del mucho a tu training y vida diaria con una SONRISOTA siempre!!!
    Te deceo lo mejor siempre…
    Te extraΓ±ooooooooo =0(

    • betybliss says:

      Muchas Gracias pelos. Siempre me haces sentir mas segura de mi misma. Te extrano mucho pelos.
      Y cuando salga Atrevete en mi playlist siempre pensare en ti πŸ™‚

  4. Melissa says:

    You will do great!! I imagine with your time goal, you won’t be stopping for any photo opps right? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

