4 Years BABY!!

It’s AUGUST 24th!!! I never forget this day and I always celebrate it.  I don’t know when or if I’ll ever stop thinking it’s a big deal but at this point it still is. Today 4 years ago I decided to change my life. I became a healthier, active, confident me 🙂 Nothing super dramatic happened to me that made me decide this. I wasn’t an unhappy person. I’ve always had great friends and family to support me. I’ve always had a pretty awesome life. I have no regrets.

I used to be a little chunkier 🙂 I have to be honest and say that at first my main focus was to be “skinny.” I don’t know when but something inside me changed. I started to enjoy hiking and running. I felt so much better about myself and I didn’t have to be “skinny.” I just wanted to do my best in everything I do and have fun.

  

I want to always feel confident in my own skin, no matter what I’m wearing or who is around. I think most days I do. (we all have our moments ;))

I want to continue visiting new places and explore as much as I can.

I want to keep running because I ENJOY it.

I love running with my friends. I like pushing myself.

I like motivating people to run a race. One of my best experiences is running a race with someone who has never ran one before. I love seeing their faces when they cross the finish line. I feel so lucky to have experienced this with Craig and my sister.

I like that I am myself. I goof around a lot and posing for funny (to me) pictures.

I love being out and about.

Looking like a fool.

And experiencing new things.

I’m not perfect and I don’t eat the “right things” everyday. I skip running or gym days sometimes and I don’t feel guilty for it anymore. I do what I do to make myself happy. I want to always remember the day that I discovered so much more about myself. I’m stronger than I thought I ever was and happier than I’ve ever been.

I look forward to another year of hiking, running and looking like a fool 😉

Question: Have you always been active?

I wasn’t active at all growing up or in my early twenties. When I started trying new things I discovered how much I liked hiking, running and being outdoors.

Betty

7 comments on “4 Years BABY!!

  1. My grew up doing gymnastics, swimming and in HS I was a competitive cheerleader. So by the time I got to college I was totally burnt out. Along with that came a good 20 lbs! It wasn’t until the past couple of years that I took advantage of my former athleticism and I’m so glad I did!!!

    Congratulations on turning your life around – you have such an amazingly FUN life!!!!

  2. Melissa says:

    So awesome – congrats!! I wasn’t active at all growing up – i did dance until i was 15 and then pretty much did nothing, ha. You’re an inspiration!

  3. Its pretty awesome that you have a date that you can pinpoint a lifestyle change to!

  4. That’s AWESOME! Congrats!! I’ve been running for about 15 months now and I can’t remember what it felt like to *not* be a runner and be in shape and be healthy, and I don’t want to remember!

  5. Diana Acuna says:

    Congrats Pelukis!!!
    I’m so Proud of you Always!!!
    Te Quiero Mucho!

  6. courtney says:

    i’m sure you hear this all the time, but i’m going to say it anyways… you are AWESOME. and INSPIRING. perfect example of making a plan and putting it into action. which is way easier said that done (trust me, i’m still trying).

Leave a Reply

