To My #1

Yay!! Finally Thursday. I am SO looking forward to this weekend. Like I said yesterday, we are leaving really early tomorrow morning.

I have a Dr’s Appt. today but other than that just getting ready to leave. Tomorrow at this time we will be close to Disneyland!!

So this post might get a little mushy. I try not to get too mushy on this blog but sometimes I just can’t help it 😉

This is my 8th half marathon. WOW!!! After my first half I was ready to NEVER run one again. Of course after my nap and eating a few slices of pizza I changed my mind. I was already thinking of another race I could do. Don’t we all?!

Running a race isn’t just about running that day. There is so much more to it. We dedicate ourselves, push ourselves in so many ways.

I’ve been lucky enough to have someone that supports me, since DAY 1. 

He wakes up early with me and will ride his bike around me on long runs, sometimes he will join me on a run, he drives me all over for a race, he makes sure we stay in on nights we feel like staying out late and can’t because I have a run the next morning, goes to the expos, takes ALL my race pictures and on regular runs, he motivates me and doesn’t let me give up…and he does it all with a smile. Never complains and he honestly enjoys it. Yeah I know that’s what your other half should do but he does it beautifully 🙂

I swear he can read my mind sometimes. When he knows I’m feeling down about a run that didn’t go well, he knows without me having to say anything.

He might have some mind reading powers like Professor Charles Xavier.

He also pushes me and never lets me quit.

He reminds me that “Pain is temporary”…right?

And like Morpheus he believes in me….sometimes more than I believe in myself.

He is always patient. Always so proud of me no matter what my time was.

He doesn’t make me feel like a nerd for spending WAY too much time planning on what I’m going to wear on race day.

And when I’m not feeling good, he takes care of me like Alfred. He is the only one that knows how crappy I feel sometimes. He is the one that makes sure I don’t get too stressed out over it. He makes sure I have fun with everything I do. He makes me happy 🙂

He has not missed one race. We even ran the Las Vegas Half Marathon together last year. I was so happy when he told me that he wanted to run one with me. It’s a great feeling to know that the person you love wants to experience something you love so much with you. We will be doing it again this year!!! Yay! So I’m dedicating my Disneyland Half Marathon to him..my #1 fan, supporter, mentor, best friend and my love. Thank you so much for always being there. I love you!!!

And I can’t forget about my girly girl Vero….

This is the first race that Vero is missing. She also joined me once and ran the El Paso Half. I am very proud of her. I’m going to miss you at the race but you know when Freek-A-leek (#4 on my playlist) comes on I’ll be smiling 😉 Love you.

Now I’m off my peeps. To everyone running this weekend…HAVE FUN!! For the people running the Disneyland Half on Sunday….wooohooooo. Let’s do this!!! I can’t wait 🙂

Betty

2 comments on “To My #1

  1. Kara says:

    My husband is the same way! He also rides his bike with me on runs to keep me company, but I’m not sure that he’d ever do a half with me. He’s more of a swim/bike kind of guy. I keep getting super nervous everytime I think about Sunday, but it’s going to be so great!!! AHHH!

  2. Courtney says:

    this is the sweetest! GOOD LUCK!!! you’re going to rock it, can’t wait to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

