Change

Last night Craig and I went to Rumbi’s for dinner again. I am addicted to their Salmon dish. OMG. It is amazing!!!! After dinner we went to the movies and watched “Killer Elite”

 Source

It was pretty good. We had originally planned on watching “Moneyball” but we didn’t get there on time.

When we got home we both got our things together. Craig had a mountain bike ride planned in the morning and I had a run planned. 🙂 We were both excited and a little nervous because we were both trying out a new trail. He showed me his map of all the mountain biking trails (he loves maps) and I acted like I knew what he was talking about 😉

I woke up at about 4:50 am. It was a little earlier than I planned but I noticed Craig was already up and I couldn’t go back to sleep. I had a clif bar and water before leaving then we said our goodbyes.

I headed towards Tempe Town Lake for my run. I have run near it and towards it. I’ve also ridden my bike around the lake on the trail but I’ve NEVER ran on the trail for a regular run before. Not sure why….I would always plan on it then I would end up running somewhere else.

Well I decided it was time to CHANGE scenery for a while and this was the perfect place to do it.

It was 5:45 am when I got there and there was already a lot of people out running, riding their bike and walking. It felt like “home” right away.

(you can see Four Peaks in this pic ;))

I could not stop taking pictures. Even though I see this everyday, it was as if it was new to me for some reason. I never really get the chance to really look at it when I’m driving or riding my bike. It’s a whole different world when you’re running.

(this shirt was very popular today)

Even though I stretched, my legs felt really tight for the first two miles but then loosened up.

I really enjoyed my run. I think I was in need of the CHANGE.

I thought this was pretty cool. You can adopt a tree and they add your name to one of the leaves.

I saw a few of these guys. It’s a crappy picture because it’s from my phone…sorry 😦 They were fast, I would try to get close for a pic and then all I would get was their puffy white tail.

I started to see all the hiking spots we go to. In the picture above you can see Camelback Mountain and Papago Park.

You can see South Mountain in this one.

This one is A Mountain, one of my first hikes 🙂 I still like doing it once in a while. It’s a quick and fun workout.

I had a great run. I had planned on 8 miles but I ran around the trail and it ended up being 6 miles. I think next time I will go to a further away bridge and around. I’m happy with 6 for today though, I have Zumba in 45 minutes with my sis 🙂

Another CHANGE I made yesterday. I had planned to run 8 miles but didn’t feel good so I relaxed for half the day. In the afternoon I started to feel better so decided to do yoga but I wasn’t feeling it. I ended up dancing in my room for 50 minutes for fun and for my workout and burned 448 calories!! SAY WHAT?!!! I think that’s pretty good. I was a sweaty beast too. It’s nice to CHANGE thing’s around sometimes.

Question: Anything you changed lately that worked out great for you?

Have a GREAT Saturday!!

Betty

2 comments on “Change

  1. courtney says:

    great pics! i want to see both of these movies too! maybe tomorrow.

  2. Melissa says:

    Love the pics! Tempe Town Lake is a cool place to run!

Leave a Reply

