Let’s Talk Marathon Training

Hi!!

Now that it’s October the fact that I’m running a MARATHON in 3 months has become more real to me. I keep picturing myself running the full and I start getting emotional. I’ve been reading a lot of first time marathon recaps and I LOVE it!!! I know I should focus on running the Women’s Half Marathon and Las Vegas Half first but my main focus is the marathon. I’m ready to run a half marathon….not completly ready to run a full. I started my training plan for the full marathon VERY early because I knew I was having health issues and I knew there would be days that I wouldn’t be able to run. Now that I’m starting to feel better I’m letting myself get more and more excited about it.

I started looking at my marathon plan more closely and realized that I’m ahead of the plan.

This is the plan I’m following….

Beginners’ Marathon Training Schedule

Week Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
1 Rest 3 mi CT 3 mi Rest 4 mi 3 mi EZ
2 Rest 3 miles Rest 3 mi CT or Rest 5 mi 3 mi EZ
3 Rest 3 mi CT 4 mi CT or Rest 6 mi 3 mi EZ
4 Rest 3 mi Rest 4 mi CT or Rest 4 mi 3 mi EZ
5 Rest 4 mi CT 4 mi CT or Rest 6 mi 3 mi EZ
6 Rest 4 mil CT 4 mi CT or Rest 8 mi 3 mi EZ
7 Rest 4 mi CT 4 mi CT or Rest 10 mi 3 mi EZ
8 Rest 4 mi CT 4 mi CT or Rest 8 mi 3 mi EZ
9 Rest 4 mi CT 4 mi CT or Rest 12 mi Rest
10 4 mi EZ 4 mi Rest 4 mi CT or Rest 10 mi 3 mi EZ
11 Rest 4 mi CT 4 mi CT or Rest 14 mi 3 mi EZ
12 Rest 5 mi CT 5 mi CT or Rest 10 mi 3 mi EZ
13 Rest 4 mi CT 5 mi CT or Rest 16 mi 3 mi EZ
14 Rest 4 mi CT 5 mi CT or Rest 12 mi 3 mi EZ
15 Rest 4 mi CT 5 mi CT or Rest 18 mi Rest
16 3 mi EZ 5 mi Rest 6 mi CT or Rest 12 mi 3 mi EZ
17 Rest 4 mi CT 6 mi CT or Rest 20 mi 3 mi EZ
18 Rest 4 mi CT 4 mi CT or Rest 12 mi 3 mi EZ
19 Rest 3 mi 20 minutes 3 mi CT or Rest 8 mi 3 mi EZ
20 Rest 2 mi 20 minutes Rest Day 20 minutes Race Day! Rest Day!

Source

We try to keep our rest days on Mondays and Fridays. On Sundays I usually don’t run an easy run but we do something else. But I’ve been sticking for the most part to my weekly short runs and my Saturday long runs. I feel pretty good where I’m at now.

I should be on the 11th week based on how I’ve been following it. I changed it a couple of times for my Disneyland half but for the most part have stuck to it. Since I’m “ahead” of the plan last weekend I only ran 10 miles and this Saturday I plan on running 12. If I want to follow the plan exactly the last 10 weeks then I should be starting the 11th week the first weekend of November….Women’s Half Marathon weekend. So not sure if I’m making the right choice but I’m going to hold back a couple more weeks before I add more miles to my long runs. I don’t even think you can be ahead of a marathon plan..seems you can never be too ready but I also don’t want to finish my plan a month ahead of time and then run short distances. Also, by then I should be done with my weekly treatments and should be A LOT better.

This whole marathon thing is very new to me. I know what works for me when it comes to training for a half, what to eat before, during and after but for 26.2 miles….have no clue. I’ve been reading a lot to try different things and see what works for me. I’m so excited, nervous, scared for January 16, 2012 but when I cross the finish line I know I’m going to feel awesome. Not worried about time at all, I just want to know that I gave it my all. Running a marathon has been a goal of mine for almost 3 years and I’m ready to accomplish that goal…

Question: Have you run a marathon? Have any tips or advice for me?

Betty

3 comments on “Let’s Talk Marathon Training

  1. courtney says:

    i’ve never run a full and only 1 half so far, so i’ll leave the advice to the others! but you are so AWESOME for doing this! i’m so excited to follow along. i hope i’ll be able to do a full someday!

  2. I’ve yet to be brave enough to sign up for a marathon! But it looks like you’re hanging in there pretty good!!! And having all of those races in between will serve as great distractions and make it more fun to train. So exciting!

  3. em says:

    You are going to do great and you are going to feel AWESOME when you have reached your goal!! My biggest piece of advice that helped me a lot in my first marathon, was just to think positive. I think that a lot of running a marathon is just mental, so if you can think good thoughts and think strong thoughts, then your body will follow 🙂

Leave a Reply

