Women’s Half Marathon Recap

Okay so first I have to give you the bad…Saturday during the day I started having stomach issues…the really bad stinky kind. TMI…I know. I rarely have this issue so it made me mad that it would happen the day before my race but oh well. I tried to sleep as good as I could, considering I woke up a few times to go to the bathroom. Other than that I felt great and really excited. We got up around 4ish. I ate a Powerbar and drank some water then we were off to meet my friend.

My friend ended up getting there a little later than what we had planned, maybe I try to be there way too early but I need to make sure I have time for the porta potty 😉

Of course I wanted pink ribbon in our hair..I’m a girly girl 🙂 We had fun putting our bib#’s on and getting our hair ready. I mean we wanted to look cute even though we were going to get all sweaty. haha

Daniela was really pumped so that made me get pumped even more and my peeps know that the morning of a race..I AM PUMPED.

We were both super cold.

I first saw this and thought to myself..where are all the people. I’ll tell you where they were…at the PORTA POTTIES which means I didn’t get to go 😦 I really needed to pee too. I knew it was going to come back and bite me in the butt.

We ended up starting in the first corral…eeek. People are fast in those corrals but we didn’t remember which one we were in and the bib didn’t say. We decided to just go with the flow.

We kept up for a while until I HAD to stop at the porta potty. I just couldn’t hold it in anymore. It took us 5 minutes…and I hate that we lost time because of that. My Garmin says actual moving time was 2:26…I’ll always wonder if we would have finished in 2:26 instead of 2:31.

Craig saw us 3 times throughout the course and every time we saw him we made sure to pose for the camera. We were really just enjoying the race and being goofy.

This was one of the hills, they don’t look too bad but they were tough. We actually walked most of the hills..up and down them. My friend injured her IT Band on our last long run so we didn’t want to make it worse and since we were doing good in time we walked most of the hills.

See we posed each time 😉

Craig took a picture of all the freebies while he waited for us at the finish line. I got 1 of each of course…or maybe 2…you’ll see the picture coming up soon.

I took this picture with the camera I carried. We both felt good throughout the whole race. I loved running with Daniela, she went along with all my dumb poses and had a smile every time I looked at her. It kept me pumped through the whole race.

My face was actually cold for most of the race. My legs and face never warmed up even though I was sweating. My nose and cheeks were cold the whole time. I hate running in the cold!!!

Love all the signs, I really do try to read all of them. There’s a few that make me chuckle while I’m running, those are the best.

Here we are ready to finish. Seeing the finish line is one of the best feelings but sometimes it feels like it’s forever still.

I had to take a picture of Dani getting her first medal. I’m so proud of her. She did freaking amazing, she’s a pro.

See I only got one of each 😉

#9 in the books!! #10 is in less than a month….can’t wait for Vegas strip at night with my love. It’s going to be awesome!

I kept saying “We run the world”…because we do.

Daniela and her family.

Me and my Craigory (he has his AZ Urban Race shirt on ;))

Wooohoooo!! I loved running with Daniela and this was not the last half we will be running together…that’s for damn sure.

Oh and this is the hair thing that I bought at the expo. It’s very cute and girly.

And I don’t want to bore you with our #’s but I’m a geek and like looking at them so here they are if you want to check them out.

#3 was our bathroom stop, #9 and #10 I think were ramps by the freeway which we walked. Overall we were happy with our pace and our time.

 #8 was 9:54!! Not sure what happened there but I like it. 🙂

Question: Have yuou ever stopped to use the porta potty during a race? I did my very first half and I learned my lesson. I always go before a race, even if I don’t think I have to but this time we didn’t make it there early enough. 😦

Time for me to get ready for work. Have a great day!!

Betty

7 comments on “Women’s Half Marathon Recap

  1. Melissa says:

    Woo, way to go!! You guys did awesome!! Man, the lines for the porta potties were ridiculous, weren’t they?? I luckily never had to go during the run, but I’m totally serious when I say that I was just going to pee my pants if i had to! hahaha

  2. Becky says:

    I lost something like 13 minutes to portapotties on my marathon. So frustrating!!

  3. em says:

    Congrats on the awesome half…you looked so cute in your little skirt! I want one for my next race!! I also LOVE the hair tie!

  4. courtney says:

    CONGRATS! you all look so freaking cute in your sparkle skirts!!

  5. Cynthia says:

    You are too cute in those race outfits!! Totally appropriate! I love to match at my races down to my nails painted too 🙂
    Congrats on an awesome race!

    I have had to use the porta potties during a race only for a full marathon. For my last half we went behind the cars cause the porta potty lines were too long. I was glad I did.

    Vegas is going to be so much fun! Maybe I’ll get to see you there 🙂

    • betybliss says:

      I’m the same way..even my nails!! My bf thinks I put too much thought into my outfit but I’s part of the fun 🙂

      It would be awesome to see you in Vegas!! I can’t wait!!

  6. […] November- Women’s Half Marathon […]

Leave a Reply

