“When you cross the finish line, no matter how slow or fast, it will change your life forever”

 Yesterday evening we watched this movie..

Source

I’ve watched it a few times and every time I cry. In the past I have felt inspired and in awe of these people. Yesterday was different though. I was still inspired but it actually made me even more nervous than I already felt. I guess because this time I know that I’m doing it in a couple of days. This last week I’ve felt a lot of things. I’ve talked and talked about it with Craig, friends and family. I bet they are ready for the marathon talk to be over…well I am too, a little. It’s TWO DAYS away. This weeks shorter runs have gone well but it makes me feel like it’s not enough even though I know taper week is VERY important. I don’t know if I’ll get a chance to blog again before the race so I’m going to tell you my game plan……BE POSITIVE!!  I’ve put in the time for training and I know that I can do this. I don’t know how long it will take me to finish it, at this point I don’t have a goal time in mind. I will be so happy to say that I ran my first marathon 🙂

I have today off from work so at this point I’m working on my marathon playlist, setting my peeps up with the runner tracking and also catching up on blogs, I need to do my nails, to match my outfit of course. Also, I want to have a backpack ready for my sister to carry with a shirt to change into after the race and flip flops. I hate walking around my shoes after a race, my feet always hurt the worst. I think we might all go out to eat afterwards so I want to be comfortable and not as stinky 🙂

I leave you with this quote..

Anybody can do just about anything with himself that he really wants to and makes his mind to do. We are capable of greater than we realize.

Norman Vincent Peale, author

Have a GREAT weekend!! Also good luck to Deep South Runner who is also running her first marathon!! You are going to do awesome 🙂

 Betty
 

2 comments on ““When you cross the finish line, no matter how slow or fast, it will change your life forever”

  1. em says:

    I love that movie! makes me cry every time too! Let me know what you pick out for your playlist, I have been needing to update mine…BAD!!!

  2. Everyone who asks me if I ever thought about running a full marathon get’s the answer “ummm no I’m too chicken” and this movie is always recommended. Now I”m afraid to watch it bc it’ll have me convinced that running a full marathon is a good idea! ahah

Leave a Reply

