I did it!!! I’m a MARATHONER! (Part 1)

I have way too many pictures to share. This experience was so amazing!! I don’t even know if my words will do it justice. I’ll start with the expo and go from there 🙂

We got to the expo at 9am, right when it opened and I’m glad we did. It was so nice to walk around without it being too crowded.

 

This was the courses. I had already printed my map a few weeks ago but seeing it big like this was a little scary. At that point I wished I was doing the half for a second. 😉

When I got my full marathon bib# it all became more real. I joked with Craig saying that it wasn’t too late for me to switch to the half so I could run it with him. He wasn’t having it. haha. I was so excited and nervous to know that it was official.

Craig was excited to run his first half marathon alone, he wants to beat my PR.

We had a lot of fun at the expo. I was practicing my finishing pose.

We were done in about an hour. Later that evening we met my sister and a friend for our carb loading dinner. I had steak, salad and mashed potatoes. I’ve noticed when I eat this before a race my stomach isn’t all crazy, like when I eat pasta.

That night the nerves started to set in. They were good nerves though, excited and ready to finally accomplish one of the goals I’ve had for so long. I set out my gear that night before going to bed.

I was up at about 4am. I wanted to make sure I had enough time to “take care” of business before I left 😉 We had toast with peanut butter before leaving.

   

We posed for a few pictures before I left. Craig was leaving about 30 minutes later than I was since his start line was closer and there wasn’t going to be as much traffic. My friend Chris drove me to the start and my sister drove Craig. We each had our support people. I was a sad that Craig wasn’t going to be at my start or that I wasn’t going to be at his but I knew we would see each other after the finish and I was happy we were both doing something we were proud of.

The marathon start line was in downtown Phoenix. It wasn’t as cold as I expected and I thought the weather was pretty perfect. I was happy with my outfit because I was ready for super cold weather or even if it got hot by the end of the race. I know in the past when I’ve run this half, towards the end I was hot so I planned accordingly. I decided on the 26.2 apparel shirt because of the obvious reason 🙂 and everyone says how awesome the material is and it REALLY is!! I loved it. I bought the arm warmers a week before, I wanted to make sure I stayed warm but I wanted something cute and what is cuter than pink sparkly arm warmers? haha I decided on the skirt because it has pockets, as you can see in the picture, I had those babies packed with stuff. I wore longer shorts underneath because I didn’t want any chaffing action going on. Then I decided on the pink compression socks because I really like compression socks, I think they do help my muscles and they keep me warm.

It was pretty cloudy at the start. It was a chance of rain but a very small chance.

The start was delayed by 30 minutes because they were waiting for the light rail, it didn’t bother me. I wanted to get it started but it also gave me a little more time to prepare mentally.

As soon as I started I made sure I started off slower than I usually would’ve. I wanted to make sure to save some energy for the last miles. I also didn’t want my legs to be killing me by the 20th mile. Everything I read said to take it easy and I did. I was high fiving everyone and really enjoying the whole experience.

I really loved the course. I’ve never had a bad experience with the P.F.Changs race and the full marathon course and support did not disappoint.

I loved this. There was so many parts with writing in the street.

I also loved running next to Camelback Mountain. I thought the scenery was great. There was so many people outside their homes passing out oranges, pretzels, m&m’s and cheering us on, it felt so awesome to have people supporting us.

I was feeling really great. I was in a little shock that I was running the full marathon. I kept focusing on the mile I was doing and not how much longer I had to run. Throughout the race I was getting text messages from all my peeps and it really helped me. There was a few times when I would start to tear up just thinking about the finish line but I didn’t want to cry. I needed to stay focused.

To be continued….

Betty

9 comments on “I did it!!! I’m a MARATHONER! (Part 1)

  1. cynthia says:

    You are awesome marathoner! Cant wait to read the rest! Where did you get those arm Warner’s I love them!

    • betybliss says:

      Thank you!! I don’t remember the name of the place, it was a booth at a 5k. I saw them again at the expo. They had so many colors. I wanted them all. I’ll try to find the card and post the link.

  2. em says:

    congrats girl!! Its an awesome feeling huh?!

  3. CONGRATS! You totally rock. 🙂 It was really sweet of your friends/family to send you encouraging text messages. I think if I was to do a marathon, I’d start crying right at the start line. You’re a champ and glad you pulled through!

  4. So glad to hear your experience was great! Can’t wait for part 2…

  5. Becky says:

    Don’t keep us waiting!!!! I can’t wait to read more. It is such an accomplishment; You are a MARATHONER!!

  6. […] January- Run, Walk and Roll 5k and P. F. Changs Full Marathon […]

Leave a Reply

