Planning an AWESOME 2012

Now that the marathon is over I can focus on other things I want to do. To be honest about a month ago I told myself that I was going to take some time off from long distance (to me that means anything longer than 6 miles) At that point I think I was tired of following a plan, I’ve had a week to think about it and I guess I’m not really done with long distance. I don’t plan on running a full marathon anytime soon but I do want to run a couple half marathons. This year I also want to focus on another love of mine…hiking. So here are some plans I have for 2012, they aren’t set in stone because I’m not registered for all of theseย YET but I’m pretty sure on most of them.

Running

February 11th

Source

I’ll hopefully be running this with my friend Daniela.

March 3rd

Source

This one I will also be running with Daniela. We want to run the half marathon and get a PR!! I want it….let’s do it ๐Ÿ™‚

March 17th

Source

This seems like such a fun race and it would be cool to bring my green tutu back into the picture. I wanted to do this race last year but didn’t include it in the plans, this year I am because I would really like to do the 17k.

There MIGHT be a little Nevada hiking trip around this time ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Yes Craig, I haven’t forgetten about this)

April 14th

ย Source

This run is at night with Craig and my sisters. This will be SO much fun. It looks like a big Rave ๐Ÿ™‚

April 28th

Source

I will be doing this with Craig. He did it last year and I was too much of a chicken to try to do it plus I was injured. This year I’m doing it!! I want to jump over the fire and look hardcore. haha.

June 3rd

ย Source

This one is still a BIG maybe, I wish it was in the books for sure. I really want to do it and we haven’t been to San Diego in awhile so it would be a nice little trip. PLUS you get Sea World tickets with your registration!!! HELLO!!! So many good things about this race, I’m really pushing for it.

Hiking

July

July will be a lot of hiking, we are really considering in making Yosemite our “main” vacation this year which would be A LOT of hiking. If it’s anything like our Zion National Park trip then it’s going to be awesome!!

Source

We also want to hike the Grand Canyon, that would be more of a weekend trip since we live close by.

ย Source

August and Septemberย will be more hiking of our favorite summer hiking trails in Arizona plus I’ll be training for my next half.

November 4th

Source

I do this race with someone new every year, I don’t plan it that way but it just happens. Someone MIGHT be doing this race with me but we are waiting to see how their first race goes ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m really excited about it though.

At this point this is what’s planned but things can change. Last year I made a plan like this and I ended up doing every race so I hope this year it’s the same way. I didn’t plan on running a lot during Winter because I get sickย so much and it’s such a pain but if I decide to do the P. F. Changs Full Marathon again in January 2013 then that means I will be training during Winter so we’ll shall see ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m really looking forward to what this year is going to bring, new adventures for sure. I started the year pretty awesome and I plan on it staying awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

Betty

6 comments on “Planning an AWESOME 2012

  1. Becky says:

    My husband and I are totally planning a trip to Yosemite this year. I cannot wait!! It looks amazing.

  2. I’m so jealous that you live by Zion National Park! I only got to hike through it for one afternoon, I’m hoping to go back. I had an internship in Yosemite one summer. It is AWESOME! You’ll really enjoy it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Are you in AZ? I’m in Gilbert…just found you over at SR’s blog. Love that pic of Havasupia (spell?) Falls. My husband hiked down there a few years ago and got some awesome pics. I’m going to run the Phoenix half in March and would love to do the San Diego one too. Also heard good things about the Scottsdale Women’s one…we’ll see. I’ll have to check out your blog a little more. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jessica

    Runningtobeskinny.com

    • betybliss says:

      Hi!! Yes I live in Mesa. I really wanted to do the Phoenix Half but when I went to register it was full ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I was really mad at myself for waiting so long to register. I might be doing the IMS half though Feb 19th. The Phoenix Marathon seems like an awesome race. I’ll be checking out your blog, I’m adding you to my blogroll today ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. […] I was stalking this AMAZING blog (she stalked me first) that I now love to pieces, & she wrote about a few races on her […]

Leave a Reply

