2 Weeks To A PR

I took 2 weeks off from following a training plan and basically did whatever I felt like it. This included a few Zumba classes with friends and my sister, hiking with Craig and with a friend, running with Craig and alone and it was really nice to not feel the pressure of HAVING to do something. But my break is over and even thought I enjoyed myself A LOT. I really missed having a goal to work towards or a plan to follow. I talked to you about my running plans this year and since then I registered for the Skirt Chaser 5k which is Feb 11th. As I was about to register for the Phoenix Half Marathon on March 3rd I realized it was FULL!! I’m not going to lie, I was VERY disappointed that I waited so long to register, I really wanted to do that race. Even before running the full I’ve been thinking that a new Half Marathon PR would be awesome. It’s been over a year and I want to beat my time because I know I can. I tried to see if there were other halfs that I could do but none fit into my plans for the next couple months and once it gets hotter in AZ there won’t be any. I thought about just waiting for the San Diego Half in June for a new PR but I kind of want it NOW. I get like that sometimes, when I want something…I WANT IT. SO me being me tried everything I could to fit another half in SOON. I found out that a plan that I had on Feb 19th was cancelled!!! It was like meant to be. haha. The IMS Marathon is the same day and it’s not far at all. 🙂 I talked to Craig about it and it was doable so I REGISTERED for it this week. Not only did I register but I got a FREAKING AWESOME deal from Schwaggle!! What What?!!

So I thought I had about a month to work towards this PR of mine since I didn’t plan on running a half until March, um no….I get 2 weeks. I’ve been running for a while so I know I can run 13.1 miles but not sure if I can beat 2:27. But I’m going to try, Nothing to lose in trying 🙂 I took about a week off after the full but have been running ever since so let’s see how this goes.

This morning I went on an 8 mile run with my shadow. 😉 I felt GREAT and I was happy to be following a plan again. Next Sunday I plan on running 10 miles.

I also wanted to share this with you…

http://www.shutupandrun.net/2012/01/virtual-run-for-sherry-arnold-february.html

I’m going to be doing it, I’m running a 5k that day so I’ll be wearing my regular bib on the front and Running for Sherry bib  on the back. I’m glad the running community is so awesome and I think it’s awesome that so many of us will be running for Sherry on Feb 11th 🙂

Betty

3 comments on “2 Weeks To A PR

  1. You can do it! Go get your OR. 😉

    It’s definitely nice to take a break from training and doing other things. 🙂

  2. diana says:

    That is awesome. And let me say thank you so much for turning me on to schwaggle! So what did your price end up being?

    I too am going to do some miles tomorrow..but mine will be hiking miles.. So i too will have a picture of me with sherrys bib!

    You will totally cream the race! No worries. Very easy course!

Leave a Reply

