Remembering my very first “run”

I’ve been running now for almost 3 years and I think that sometimes I forget or take for granted how far I’ve come. Sometimes when I go for a run, I think nothing of it. I go, enjoy it and I’m done. But sometimes, like today I think about how 3 years ago that’s not something I thought I could just go do. Since training with my sister I’ve been thinking about my very first run. So here is the quick story, not sure if I’ve ever gone over it before.

So I had been working out for a good year at this point. I had lost 38 pounds and I was working out daily. I was feeling great, better than I had ever felt in my life. One day at work I hear my friend telling our other friend that she wants to run a half marathon. I started to ask her questions about this half marathon she spoke of. I’m embarrassed to say I had never even heard of it before. My other friend said he ran that specific race every year, that he ran the full marathon. They told me how many miles each race was and at that moment I decided I wanted to run this race too. In my head I was considering on running the full marathon…..yeah. Anyway, I told Craig about it and he suggested I go on a run before deciding on the full marathon. Craig has always been supportive but he has always been the thinker in the relationship. haha. I always make fast decisions without thinking too much about it. Anyway, that weekend we went to our favorite park for my run. Craig took off on his bike and I told him I would text him when I was done. In my head I was thinking, I’ll do 3-4 miles. Ummm yeah that didn’t happen. It was hard, really hard. I even got mad at myself. I was thinking I was fit and this would be fairly easy. It wasn’t. Yeah I had been working out but I wasn’t running so this was new to me. I think I might have done half a mile before I turned back with tears in my eyes. I texted Craig telling him I couldn’t do it and he quickly came to console me. After I calmed down I decided that I wasn’t ready for the full but that I was going to train for the half. I needed to prove to myself that I could do it.

So that’s how it started for me, this “addiction” 😉 I trained with my friend and a few months later ran our first half marathon together. I will never forget that moment, we both cried when we crossed the finish line. Just thinking about it brings back all those feelings. It was amazing.

Since then I’ve run 11 half marathons, a full marathon and a few 5k-10k’s. I’ve had good, awesome and really bad runs. They don’t always go the way I want but they have all brought me where I am now. The reason I wanted to tell my story is because I want to hear yours too. My sister started her training plan 2 1/2 months ago and due to health issues had to stop for 1 month. As soon as her Dr. cleared her she messaged me saying I’m ready to start training again. 🙂 She has been training now for 3 weeks and I can definitely tell how far she has come. It’s cool to see this. She is doing great. I am extremely proud of her. I want her to read your stories also so I hope that you share it with us. 🙂

The other night my mom joined us too. Craig ran with my sister and I ran with my mom. Right now we are doing the walk/run method. I know that’s how I started and it worked for me. I would run at the track until I felt comfortable running other places.

This months Runner’s World Magazine had some great tips that I’m sure most of you know but I thought they were really good and wanted to post.

I’m going to have her read the whole article. It had some pretty good info.

Our 5k is in less than 2 weeks. I can’t wait to cross the finish line with my two sisters and Craig. It’s going to be a fun race 🙂

Question: So how did you get into running?

Was it easy for you?

How did your first run go?

Betty

5 comments on “Remembering my very first “run”

  1. diana says:

    Nice job! keep up the running!!!! Congrats on your mom going with you!

  2. courtney says:

    what a great post! i didn’t get the bug until last may. i’d ran off and on but it was always running because i had to or because i needed to lose weight, etc. now i miss it if i don’t and it’s crazy to me that may will make 1 year of running!

  3. My sorority used to volunteer at the start line for the “Bolder Boulder” (10k race). For two years, I was on the sidelines watching a few of my friends preparing for the race… So during the second year of volunteering, I vowed to myself that I would participate in the race the following year! So that’s what motivated me to start running, because I didn’t want to be a spectator anymore.

    So throughout my junior year of college, I would go running on a path that was right next to my apartment. I remember that it took me a VERY long time to even run a mile without a walking break. I started off VERY, VERY slow and I had to start off doing the running/walking method as well. At times it was discouraging, but I didn’t give up. Overtime, the walking breaks got shorter and I didn’t need them that much. Eventually, I started really enjoying running. =D

    —-

    It’s so awesome how far you’ve come! And it’s great that you’ve inspired people around you to start running!

  4. Nancy says:

    I’ve always been extremely active growing up (gymnastics, figure skating, high jump, rugby) but running was always just something my coaches made me do as part of my training. After I started college, I stopped doing sports altogether and thought I could turn to running as something that to keep me fit and as something I could do according to my own schedule.
    My first run was from my dorm down to the schukyll river and it felt like AN ETERNITY. My lungs burned, my eyes watered, I somehow managed to get a pebble in my shoe (argh!) and I was so miserable. I remember these two runners passed me and I couldn’t comprehend how they could run so fast AND keep up a conversation at the same time. I didn’t have a garmin at the time so I looked up the distance on a website that calculates distances using Google map and I think it was like 0.3 miles (felt more like 4 miles to me at the time).

    Reading your entry has reminded me to appreciate how far I’ve come since then and not to beat myself up over little things, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

