Red Tutu

I ran the PHX half marathon on 11/04, on the same day they had the Women’s Half Marathon which I normally do but we decided to do this one for a different course and just all around something new.

The race started at Downtown Phoenix at 7am. We left our place around 5ish to beat any race traffic.

That morning my stomach wasn’t feeling all that great (BIG surprise) on the wayย there, nature called (YES!!) so we made a quick stop and I felt a billion times better.

 

It was dark when we got there and we could see a lot of runners starting to head to the starting line and expo. We found parking pretty quickly and it wasn’t too far from the start at all.

My sister was able to come ๐Ÿ™‚ She used to come to all my races but now she has a life (HOW DARE HER) and doesn’t really come anymore.

The top picture is about the time i figured out that I forgot something at home…the RED TUTU I made. Well I had made us both red tutu’s and I was a little bummed. That tutu made our outfit what it was but it was too late to just go home for a tutu so the show must go on….

I messaged my friend since we were meeting to head to start together and I told her about the tutu. She said she wasn’t going to run with it either so we can be the same. Good Friend ๐Ÿ™‚ We decided to save the tutu for Vegas RNR since we were planning on wearing red anyway.

This was a smaller race for the half marathon than I’m used to. This was the first time they held a half marathon, they usually just have the 10k.

The back of my socks were cute, I forgot to get a picture but they said USA on the back and the back of our shirts had the USA Flag ๐Ÿ™‚

This was around the 3rd mile, we were keeping a 10:15 pace at this time and we were feeling really good.

Right after that though my friend started feeling a little sick and had to walk for a bit. She was feeling the same way I was about my stomach.

I saw Craig and my sister about 4-5 times throughout the race. I get so pumped when I get to see them on the course. It really does help. Especially towards the end of the race when you are tired.

Going to give Craig a kiss ๐Ÿ˜‰

The course was flat and went down Central Ave. We got to run through all the tall buildings. One the course we saw the 10k race had started because there was a huge crowd of runners running our way. They had a lot more 10k runners than for the half.

My friend started to feel better around the 9th mile and around the 10th mile I lost whatever energy I had left. They didnt’ have any sports drinks on the course and I think that would have helped. I didn’t take any of the GU because it upsets my stomach and the gummies I had got all weird. They were old.

We ended up crossing the finish line at 2:44:59. Not our best time but we were happy with that. We had a lot of fun. We sang a lot during this race ๐Ÿ™‚

Another race under out belts and another medal to add to the wall.

Family pics at the finish ๐Ÿ™‚

Betty

3 comments on “Red Tutu

  1. courtney says:

    great job!! love your outfit, but sorry you forgot your tutu, totally something i’d do! i’m going to be in vegas too, i hope we can meet up to say hi!

  2. Cute race outfit! ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like it was a fun race.

Leave a Reply

