Goodbye 2012….You were awesome!

Hi! Before 2013 starts I want to write a quick post of a few highlights from 2012. I had an AMAZING year. 2011 was a bit rough for me with a few health problems but 2012 was so much better and I am so thankful for that. I was able to accomplish a few of the goals I had set up for myself. I don’t usually do New Year’s Resolutions but I do plan. Oh do I plan 🙂 My year started with one of the biggest goals I had for myself.

I was able to meet fitness goals…

image

In January I ran my first full marathon and finished. This was so huge for me for many reasons but I didn’t know how much it meant to me until I crossed the finish line. I was emotional throughout the race but crossing the finish line and seeing my friends and family there brought emotions I didn’t expect. I will never forget finishing my first full.

I also got a new PR for my half marathon. I had been working on this baby for a little over a year and even though I was sick that day I beat my PR by over 6 minutes. Again, it was an emotional race for me. I felt great throughout the race and pushing myself made me realize how much more I can do.

image

I also completed my running race streak. I’m currently on 15 months of running a race every month, it’s something I’m pretty proud of and plan on continuing for a few more months. There were months when it was a little harder to find a race here in AZ (summer) but I made it work and made it happen.

Outside of meeting a few fitness goals we traveled a lot and explored a few new places.

image

After 6 years of wanting to visit San Francisco we finally went in July. It was an incredible vacation and we will be going back some day for sure. We walked, hiked and biked the city. It was awesome!

Another great trip was FINALLY hiking Havasupai in the Grand Canyon. We spent 3 days in the canyon and 2 nights. We carried all our gear in and out and felt pretty bad ass doing it. haha.

image

The pictures of the falls don’t do it any justice. Seeing them in person was really cool.
image

image

Also, glad our friends went with us on our adventure.

Besides running, hiking and travelling I also got a job promotion. I LOVE my job. I haven’t been able to say that for a long time and I’m happy to end the year feeling great about every area of my life. So many more goals to accomplish. 2012 was AWESOME but 2013 is going to be even better. I have great friends, an amazing family and the best bf ever 🙂 I’m ready to tackle 2013!!

Happy New Year Everyone!!

Betty

3 comments on “Goodbye 2012….You were awesome!

  1. courtney says:

    GREAT YEAR!! love that you all hike so much, i’d love for us to do that more!

  2. Christine says:

    Wow. What an incredible year for you! Congrats on your first marathon, your half marathon PR and your running race streak! I love SF – my family lives there and I’m so thankful that I get to visit them there. I’ve always wanted to hike Havasupai. It looks amazing. Happy New Year!

  3. Suzanne says:

    What a wonderful year! Happy New Year to you!

Leave a Reply

